Another good week for Dundalk Golf Club players

Dundalk Golf Club has expressed their congratulations to Caolan Rafferty on winning his first Irish amateur golf major when he captured the South of Ireland Golf Championship at Lahinch on Sunday.

Everybody in Dundalk Golf Club is very proud of Caolan and delighted that his hard work and dedication have finally been rewarded.

Congratulations are also extended to Eoin Murphy, Joseph Laverty and Gregory McCaughey on their respective achievements over the past week for province and country.

Eoin, who caddied for Caolan in Sunday’s semi-final and final in Lahinch, also had a great week as he starred for Leinster on their way to winning the Boys U18 Interprovincials at Slieve Russell. He picked up 4.5 points out of a possible six from his foursomes and singles matches and his performances saw him rewarded with a place on the Irish team for the Boys Home Internationals at Royal Dornoch, Scotland, from August 7 to 9 where Ireland will be bidding for a first win since 2013.

Joseph was also on interpro duty last week as he was selected on the Leinster U14 team and he finished the week with 1.5 points out of a possible three as Leinster was just edged out for the title by Munster.

Greg was part of the Ireland team that took part in the World Deaf Championships at Carton House and, playing in the Seniors section, he finished 10th in the individual competition while helping Ireland to a silver medal in the team event.

The qualifying rounds of Gerry Byrne’s Captain’s Prize took place over the weekend. The torrential rain on Saturday led to that round being cancelled and refixed for this Saturday but Sunday went ahead and those on 81 or better may book a place on next Sunday’s timesheet along with those from the top 40 in the Golfer of the Year who played on Sunday, The top 20 scores from Sunday have been given tee times in the leaders slot for Sunday and they are: Christy Ward, John Oakes, Clem Walshe, Anthony McCrave, Micheal Gill, Brian Sloan, Derek Murdock, Alan Uzell, Paul O’Callaghan, Gerard Murray, Gerry Campbell, Kevin Redmond, Barry Grennan, Benny O Shaughnessy, Andrew Brodigan, Trevor Giff, John Paul Casey, Paul Lynch, Austin Carroll and Gregory McCaughey. They will be joined by the top ten players from next Saturday’s refixed qualifier.

Senior Panel member Brendan Lawlor issued a timely reminder last Wednesday to team managers Alan McCabe and John Conlon who are preparing for the club’s date with The Island in the Leinster quarter-finals at Mount Juliet next month. Lawlor (2) produced a magnificent round of 42pts to win the Open Singles Stableford competition by one shot from Colm Coburn (19) and also took the gross prize with a four under par total of 40pts. Lawlor round also saw his handicap drop to one.   Coburn took Cateogry 2 with Kevin Redmond (12) and Tadhg O’Sullivan (21) winning Categories 1 and 3 respectively while Ruairi McMahon (18) claimed the juvenile prize.

Wednesday, July 25 – Open Singles Stableford – Overall: Brendan Lawlor (2) 42pts. Category 1 (0-12): Kevin Redmond (12) 38pts, Sean Laverty (3) 36/19pts. Category 2 (13-19): Colm Coburn (19) 41pts, Nicholas MacShane (19) 40pts. Category 3 (20+): Tadhg O’ Sullivan (21) 37pts, Tony Hanna (22) 36/16pts. Best Gross: Brendan Lawlor (2) 40pts. Juvenile: Ruairi McMahon (18) 34pts. CSS: 73/35pts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.