Players Championship 2019: Departure times, date, TV schedule and cash prizes

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL - MAY 13: Webb Simpson of the United States celebrates the 18th green after winning the final round of THE PLAYERS championship at the TPC Sawgrass Stadium on May 13, 2018 in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida . (Photo by Cliff Hawkins / Getty Images)

Cliff Hawkins / Getty Images

Thursday marks the opening day of the 2019 players' championship at TPC Sawgrass in Florida. Start times for the opening round have been released and last year's winner, Webb Simpson, is paired with Tiger Woods and Patrick Reed in one of the most outstanding groups.

The American group Rickie Fowler, Brooks Koepka and Jordan Spieth are other remarkable couples. Meanwhile, the winners of the Open 2018, Francesco Molinari, are joined by Jason Day and Tony Finau.

Rory McIlroy, Phil Mickelson and Matt Kuchar are some of the best at the start. The world No. 1, Dustin Johnson, will also be involved in the morning, alongside Jon Rahm and Sergio Garcia.

Justin Rose, Justin Thomas and Xander Schauffele are also in the game as soon as the players begin to fight for the $ 2.25 million of the winner over the $ 12.5 million prize money available at Ponde Verda Beach.

Date: Thursday, March 14

TV program (By Dan McDonald of

  • Thursday, March 14: 13h-19h on Golf Channel
  • Friday, March 15: 1 pm to 7 pm on Golf Channel
  • Saturday March 16th: 2h-19h ET on NBC
  • Sunday March 17th: 1pm to 6pm on NBC
  • Thursday, March 14: 11:30 to 11:00. GMT, Sky Sports Players
  • Friday, March 15 from 11:30 to 11:00 GMT, Sky Sports Players
  • Saturday March 16th: 14h / 11h GMT, Sky Sports Players
  • Sunday March 17th: 14h-10h GMT, Sky Sports Players
  • Direct: PGA Tour Live. NBC Sports App. Sky Go.

    Departure times

    7:40 ET / 11; 40h00 GMT

  • Charl Schwartzel, Tyrrell Hatton, Thorbjorn Olesen
  • Chesson Hadley, Michael Thompson, Corey Conners
  • 7:50 am / 11:50 am GMT

  • Lucas Glover, Louis Oosthuizen, Talor Gooch
  • Scott Brown, Byeong Hun An and Beau Hossler
  • 8:01 am / 12:01 pm GMT

  • Chris Kirk, Matt Gay, Matt Wallace
  • Ryan Palmer, Trey Mullinax and Sungjae Im
  • 8:11 am / 12:11 pm GMT

  • Charles Howell III, Aaron Wise and Scott Piercy
  • Ted Potter Jr., Patton Kizzire, Brendan Steele
  • 8:22 am / 12:22 pm GMT

  • Adam Long, Danny Willett and Vijay Singh
  • Keith Mitchell, Austin Cook, Tommy Fleetwood
  • 8:32 am / 12:32 pm GMT

  • Cameron Field, Michael Kim, Cameron Smith
  • Justin Rose, Xander Schauffele, Justin Thomas
  • 8:43 am / 12:43 pm GMT

  • Marc Leishman, Ian Poulter, Adam Hadwin
  • Bryson DeChambeau, Bubba Watson, Billy Horschel
  • 8:53 AM / 12:53 GMT

  • Kevin Tway, Grayson Murray and Brian Harman
  • Dustin Johnson, Jon Rahm and Sergio Garcia
  • 9:04 ET / 13:04 GMT

  • Brice Garnett, Patrick Cantlay, Ryan Armor
  • Phil Mickelson, Matt Kuchar and Rory McIlroy
  • 9:14 am ET / 1:14 pm GMT

  • Ollie Schniederjans, Abraham Ancer, Seamus Power
  • Harold Varner III, Sam Ryder, Li Hao Tong
  • 9:25 am ET / 1:25 pm GMT

  • Kevin Streelman, English English, Peter Uihlein
  • Alex Cejka, Tom Hoge and Brandon Hankins
  • 9:35 am ET / 1:35 pm GMT

  • Nick Watney, Bronson Burgoon, Eddie Pepperell
  • Scott Stallings, Rory Sabbatini and Joel Dahmen
  • 12:35 ET / 4:35 GMT

  • Bruan Guard, Chaz Reavie, Patrick Rodgers
  • Charley Hoffman, Luke List, Kelly Kraft
  • 12:45 pm / 4:45 pm GMT

  • Jason Kokrak, Scott Langley, Danny Lee
  • Vaughn Taylor, Nick Taylor J.T. Publish on
  • 12:56 ET / 16:56 pm GMT

  • Aaron Baddeley, Grace Branden, John Huh
  • Alex Noren, Richy Werenski and Dominic Bozzelli
  • 1:06 pm / 5:06 pm GMT

  • J. B. Holmes, Jason Dufner, Russell Henley
  • Andrew Putnam, Gary Woodland and Russell Knox
  • 13:17 ET / 17: 17 hours GMT

  • Brandt Snedeker, Troy Merritt and Jimmy Walker
  • Keegan Bradley, Andrew Landry, Si Kim Woo
  • 1:27 pm ET / 5 pm GMT

  • Tiger Woods, Webb Simpson, Patrick Reed
  • Kyle Stanley, Daniel Berger and Kevin Kisner
  • 13:38 ET / 17:38 GMT

  • Henrik Stenson, Adam Scott, Martin Kaymer
  • Hideki Matsuyama, Zach Johnson and Stewart Cink
  • 13h48 ET / 17h: 48h GMT

  • Francesco Molinari, Jason Day and Tony Finau
  • Satoshi Kodaira, Paul Casey, Jim Furyk
  • 13:59 ET / 17:59 GMT

  • Rickie Fowler, Spieth Jordan, Brooks Koepka
  • Martin Trainer, Kevin Na, Jhonattan Vegas
  • 14h09 ET / 6: 09h GMT

  • Bud Cauley, Sam Saunders and Matthew Fitzpatrick
  • Emiliano Grillo, Shane Lowry and Martin Laird
  • 2:20 pm ET / 6:20 pm GMT

  • Rafa Cabrera Bello, Sung Kang and Tyler Duncan
  • Ryan Moore, J.J. Spaun, C.T. The frying pan
  • 2:30 pm in the afternoon. ET / 18H30 GMT

  • Anirban Lahiri, Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Ryan Blaum
  • Denny McCarthy, Wyndham Clark, Lucas Bjerregaard
  • Johnson and McIlroy are among the top-ranked favorites, according to Kyle Porter of CBS Sports. Porter has expressed surprise that notable names such as Simpson, Reed, Mickelson, Spieth and Henrik Stenson are not getting more buzz.

    Some marquee names may be forgotten, but Johnson's favorite status is warranted. The 34-year-old has 20 wins on the PGA Tour after triumphing at the recent WGC-Mexico championship.

    Few players are able to match Johnson's power to the driver. Yet unlike most heavyweights, the native of South Carolina is subtle with the wedge and skillful on the greens.

    His skills make Johnson great for the rest of the pack, but he needs to show Sawgrass more comfort, despite repeated attempts to crack the course:

    Sean Martin @PGATOURSMartin

    Best average of the last three PLAYERS championships:

    Adam Scott, 9.7
    Dustin Johnson, 19.0
    Brooks Koepka, 20.7
    Jason Day, 22.0
    Ian Poulter, 23.3

    * – among the players who participated in all three

    McIlroy poses a daunting challenge to Johnson's presumed dominance in Florida. He missed history in Mexico after finishing five shots behind Johnson, but he still has enough motivation to succeed.

    Most of the participants said that their motivation should come from the desire to take a long defeat. McIlroy did not win a tournament in a year. Nevertheless, he still has a range of shots and the natural technique that most of the best players envy.

    It is always intriguing to see if Rory, good or bad, will come to a remarkable event. If he keeps his head, the 29-year-old can outdo the others.

    The story is similar for Woods, who may have outperformed his potential but who can still activate the style when needed. That's not to say that there is no work in the 43-year-old's game.

    Woods turned to Matt Killen for advice on his bet, Ben Everill from It's a necessary job after "Woods has produced six three-putts in each of his last two tournaments, the Genesis Open and the World Golf Championships-Mexico Championship, to quell any real challenge."

    Woods has a great experience of victory in this tournament:


    Aim the OR.

    @TigerWoods seems to join @JackNicklaus as triple winner of @THEPLAYERSChamp.


    Of course, there is no guarantee that the winner will be a household name. Simpson upset the odds a year ago and players like Molinari, Garcia and Stenson are all capable of doing the same thing.