Reuters Sports Schedule at 0001 GMT on Friday

Reuters sports schedule at 0001 GMT on Friday:

GOLF

PGA Tour: Texas Open, San Antonio (to 22)

Garcia tries to bounce back from Masters

Adam Scott, at TPC San Antonio. (GOLF-TEXAS/, expect by 0100 GMT/9 PM ET, 400 words)” data-reactid=”16″>After missing the cut at the Masters, thanks in no small measure to one disastrous hole, Sergio Garcia seeks to bounce back as he heads a field that includes another former Masters champion, Adam Scott, at TPC San Antonio. (GOLF-TEXAS/, expect by 0100 GMT/9 PM ET, 400 words)

LPGA Tour: JTBC LA Open, Los Angeles (to 22)

Women seek stardom in Tinseltown

Shanshan Feng of China heads a stellar field that includes nearly all of the top players as the LPGA returns to exclusive Wilshire Country Club for the first time since 2001. (GOLF-WOMEN/LAOPEN, expect by 0400 GMT/12 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 400 words)

SOCCER

FIFA referee director makes impassioned case for VAR

FLORENCE, Italy – In an interview with Reuters, FIFA’s refereeing director Massimo Busacca makes an impassioned defence of the decision to use video replay technology at the World Cup, saying it is an invaluable tool for referees who are “killed” by the media when they make a mistake. (SOCCER-FIFA/REFEREES, (INTERVIEW, PIX, expect by 1200 GMT/8 AM ET, by Brian Homewood, 600 words)

Premier League

We bring you all the latest team and injury news ahead of this week’s fixtures. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-TEAM/, expect throughout)

La Liga

Leganes v Deportivo La Coruna (1900)

Copy on merit

Bundesliga

Borussia Moenchengladbach v VfL Wolfsburg (1830)

Copy on merit

Ligue 1

Nantes v Rennes (1730)

Dijon v Olympique Lyonnais (1900)

Copy on merit

TENNIS

Monte Carlo Masters

Nadal faces Thiem in quarter-finals

Kei Nishikori of Japan. (TENNIS-MONTECARLO/ (PIX, TV), 300 words)” data-reactid=”44″>MONTE CARLO – Defending champion Rafa Nadal meets fifth seed Dominic Thiem in the quarter-finals and world number three Marin Cilic takes on Kei Nishikori of Japan. (TENNIS-MONTECARLO/ (PIX, TV), 300 words)

RUGBY

Super Rugby (week 10)

Auckland Blues v Otago Highlanders, Auckland (0735)

NSW Waratahs v Lions, Sydney (0945)

Injury-hit Blues face Highlanders in Auckland

AUCKLAND – Auckland Blues coach Tana Umaga, who has 18 players unavailable through injury, has cobbled together a side to face the Otago Highlanders with the hope they can keep their increasingly slim playoffs hopes alive. (RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/BULLS, expect by 0930 GMT/5:30 AM ET, 400 words)

Waratahs look to shake off Folau controversy against Lions

SYDNEY – The New South Wales Waratahs have been dogged by controversy over comments Israel Folau made two weeks ago and face a Lions side keen on extending their lead in the South African conference. (RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/WARATAHS, expect by 1200 GMT/8 AM ET, 400 words)

We will also move rolling HIGHLIGHTS of every match in the round.

NBA

Warriors face Spurs, Sixers battle Heat

The defending champion Golden State Warriors look to take a decisive 3-0 series lead when they travel to face the Spurs in San Antonio while the Philadelphia 76ers battle the Miami Heat in two of the three first-round playoff games on the National Basketball Association schedule. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NHL

Caps battle Blue Jackets, Bruins visit Leafs

The Washington Capitals look to even their series against the Blue Jackets at two games apiece while the Boston Bruins hope to take a 3-1 series lead against the Toronto Maple Leafs in the two playoff games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

BASEBALL

Ohtani-mania sweeps LA

In a city known for its big stars, two-way baseball sensation Shohei Ohtani is shinning the brightest, delighting long-suffering Los Angeles Angels fans in his first MLB season since leaving his native Japan for California (BASEBALL-MLB-LAA-BOS/OHTANI) (PIX, TV) expect by 0500 GMT/1:00 a.m. ET, by Rory Carroll, 350 words)

NL-West leading Diamondbacks host Giants The NL-West leading Arizona Diamondbacks host division rivals the San Francisco Giants while the defending champion Houston Astros battle the Mariners in Seattle in two of the nine games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)

BOXING

Pacquiao faces media in Kuala Lumpur

KUALA LUMPUR – Manny Pacquiao meets the media in Kuala Lumpur ahead of his bout with Lucas Matthysse (BOXING-WELTERWEIGHT/PACQUIAO-MATTHYSSE/ (TV, PIX, text story on merit)

(Asia Desk Editor: Ian Ransom)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *